Author Topic: No Carry in Libraries - MI SB4438  (Read 17218 times)

Offline smellslikemichigan

• MOC Member
Re: No Carry in Libraries - MI SB4438
« Reply #40 on: April 07, 2011, 11:45:59 AM »
you need a permit to purchase if you don't have a CPL.  but whether you have a CPL or not your handgun always has to be registered
"I like users who quote themselves in their signature lines." -smellslikemichigan

Offline Bronson

« Reply #41 on: April 07, 2011, 01:37:56 PM »
Ah, okay. But then, do you still need a purchase permit if you're buying from an individual?

(I'm studying up to get my FFL... lol.)

More studying is in order  :D :P

To purchase a handgun in MI you must have either a CPL or a License to Purchase/Posssess.

Per Federal law you must be 21 to purchase from a Federally licensed dealer.  This applies to all states as it's a Fed. rule.

Per MI law you may purchase a handgun at 18 but since the Feds. require you to be 21 to purchase from a dealer an 18-20 yr old must purchase from a private individual.

Per MI law you must be 21 to obtain a CPL so anybody under 21 must use a License to Purchase/Possess and buy from a private individual.

Bronson
Those who expect to reap the benefits of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it. – Thomas Paine

Offline Markalon

• 2AFirearmsDealer.com
  • First Name (Displayed): Mark
« Reply #42 on: April 08, 2011, 06:47:06 AM »
Thank you. And yes, I knew all of that, except the part about <21 being able to purchase from a private individual. I thought you needed to be 21 to get a purchase permit at all, which means <21 would not be able to purchase a pistol even from a private individual, unless no permit is required for a private purchase.

Seeing as how an FFL dealer isn't allowed to sell to anybody <21 anyway, I didn't think it was a big deal to know this. But more info is always better! lol. Thanks.
Mark - 2A Firearms, Livonia, MI - I carry a gun because cops are too damn heavy.