Author Topic: apartment complex open carry  (Read 8227 times)

Offline alokrip

• First Name (Displayed): Brian
apartment complex open carry
« on: September 28, 2011, 12:47:16 PM »
I was reported Monday by another resident who saw me open carrying while taking trash out (which i have been doing several times a week for a couple months now). Since the complex is considered private property, does the property manager have the right to tell me I cannot open carry strictly because another resident complained? Someone told me they didn't think that they could stop me from open carrying.

Offline northofnowhere

Re: apartment complex open carry
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2011, 04:07:33 PM »
The apartment complex is private property I presume, and not a government agency (such as a HUD Housign Commission of sorts).  Assuming it is a privately owned complex, yes, the owner can dictate how you carry or if you carry on the grounds.  If it is a violation of your lease, which it could be, or be made to be, then you could face eviction as well.  That is my usderstanding of the law.  In Michigan, private property laws trump firearm laws.
Jason E. Reese aka northofnowher

Offline alokrip

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2011, 04:54:04 PM »
Nothing in the lease about it, had the manager, who happens to be my wife as well, review the lease...nothing there. The other kicker is I actually never had to sign a lease since she works for the place, so their lease doesn't effect me. I do plan on not carrying anymore strictly for the less amount of stress on her, but was curious of what side the law would be on.

Offline northofnowhere

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2011, 05:35:44 PM »
     That would be my choice as well, if you are happy there, and the spouse works there, it is probably not the battle to take on.  No worries, one day hopefully it will be so normal to see in Michigan that you won't need to worry about complaints like that.
Jason E. Reese aka northofnowher

Offline alokrip