Author Topic: open and concealed carry questions.  (Read 5740 times)

Offline cruisermedic

open and concealed carry questions.
« on: December 10, 2011, 06:21:00 PM »
I am new to registering here but not new to reading tons of good information.  The reason I finally registered is I'm digging for some answers and can't find them.

I know I have read somewhere that in the state of Michigan, it is legal to carry open and/or concealed in local government offices/meetings. And the same for any police department in areas open to the public.   Now I understand there are rules to concealed and open carry. I am a Michigan CPL holder. 

My dilemma is that my local village council has found them in a position of homelessness. As in they have to vacate the building they are leasing.  This includes the local police department as well.  Now, I carry(concealed) to all local meetings and while in the police department.

Their new proposed location is the middle school.  The same school that is open and used for teaching.   This poses many problems that I see but ill only ask about gun carry related for now.

To my understanding concealed carry is not legal in any school. Open carry is legal as long as you have a valid MI CPL.   But when the school leases out space to a police department or a village government, those rented spaces now are not gun free zones.  I'm almost positive I had read this here somewhere.

So I can carry open or conceal in those rented police and government spaces and the most direct routes to them?  Am I correct in thinking this way.   Any material or info I can show the school, village, and local pd?

Thanks
Steve

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Re: open and concealed carry questions.
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 07:19:27 PM »
Hello.  I would suggest you start by reading this thread about getting started with Open Carry in Michigan.