Author Topic: OC in School and ask to not....  (Read 11598 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
OC in School and ask to not....
« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2011, 01:13:04 AM »
FF = full of that color
00 = none of the color

This is base 16 numbers (0-F)

The first two represent red, next two digits = green. Last = blue

When all are "full", you get white. All empty = black.

Pure red would be #FF0000

Get it?

#EEEEEE is a slight grey.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Bronson

Re: OC in School and ask to not....
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2011, 03:00:20 PM »
I also researched to see if my school district had a "rule" on the books regarding firearms, which they didn't. If they did I would consider it unlawful due to preemption, some argue that preemption does not include regional authorities. My opinion is that a School board is a local form of government.

Unfortunately your (our) opinion doesn't matter.  While a school district IS often a recognized local unit of goverment it is NOT a recognized local unit of government in regards to firearm preemption.

123.1101 Definitions.

Sec. 1.

As used in this act:

(a) “Local unit of government” means a city, village, township, or county.

So by the letter of the law a school district is not covered by preemption.  This doesn't mean they can make laws but it may mean they can make rules and if you ignore those rules they may ask you to leave and if you do not you may be arrested for trespassing.

Bronson
Those who expect to reap the benefits of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it. – Thomas Paine

Offline PaulC

« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2011, 06:11:40 PM »