Author Topic: HB 5145 - First Degree Murder to Shoot into a house.  (Read 6191 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
HB 5145 - First Degree Murder to Shoot into a house.
« on: March 01, 2012, 10:04:10 AM »
HB 5145 would make it first degree murder to:

(b) Murder committed in the perpetration of, or attempt to perpetrate, arson, criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, or third degree, child abuse in the first degree, a major controlled substance offense, robbery, carjacking, breaking and entering of a dwelling, home invasion in the first or second degree, larceny of any kind, extortion, kidnapping, vulnerable adult abuse in the first and second degree under section 145n, torture under section 85, or aggravated stalking under section 411i, or intentionally discharging a firearm at a dwelling or an occupied structure under section 234b.

(Parts added are bold)
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
Re: HB 5145 - First Degree Murder to Shoot into a house.
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2012, 10:05:38 AM »
It is currently manslaughter (and rightfully so, IMHO) if you are shooting in self-defense at an attacker and one of your "stray bullets" enters the home behind the attacker and kills someone.

Question: would this bill make this scenario first degree murder?

Discuss!

Offline Bronson

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2012, 10:37:01 AM »
I think the purpose of this is for the "drive-by" scenario.  With the inclusion of the word "intentionally" in the added section I would think that would preclude a missed SD shot that accidentally enters a home behind the bad guy.  After all the INTENT wasn't to shoot at the home, the intent was to shoot at the bad guy and you missed.

Bronson
Those who expect to reap the benefits of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it. – Thomas Paine

Warchild