Author Topic: oc in a movie theatre  (Read 5069 times)

Offline noahp87

• First Name (Displayed): Noah
oc in a movie theatre
« on: May 06, 2012, 08:12:55 PM »
can you open carry in a movie theatre?

Offline scot623

• MOC Member
Re: oc in a movie theatre
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2012, 08:17:24 PM »
OC with a CPL is legal in a movie theater. Private property rules apply, and I am not aware of any theaters that allow firearms as a matter of policy. If you find one that does not object, let us know.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2012, 11:50:35 PM »
"An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500"
..that you know has that much seating or "have reason to know".

With a CPL: You can OC with 2,500+
With a CPL you MAY NOT CC with 2,500+
Without a CPL you may not OC with 2,500+
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Bronson

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2012, 04:39:52 AM »
"An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500"
..that you know has that much seating or "have reason to know".

With a CPL: You can OC with 2,500+
With a CPL you MAY NOT CC with 2,500+
Without a CPL you may not OC with 2,500+

True but a little, albeit probably unintentionally, misleading.  The seating capacity numbers are only attached to the concealed carry pistol free zones.  There is no seating capacity number attached to OC without a CPL; there is only no carry in any type of theatre.

750.234d Possession of firearm on certain premises prohibited; applicability; violation as misdemeanor; penalty.

Sec. 234d.

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2), a person shall not possess a firearm on the premises of any of the following:

(a) A depository financial institution or a subsidiary or affiliate of a depository financial institution.

(b) A church or other house of religious worship.

(c) A court.

(d) A theatre.

(e) A sports arena.