Author Topic: place to carry question...  (Read 8112 times)

Offline Brian1921

place to carry question...
« on: March 26, 2012, 10:53:30 PM »
ok im new to the site.. and i cant seem to get a straight answer anywhere.. I have my cpl.. and i work as a armed guard. just wondering if anyone knew if it was legal for me to open carry in a ice arena. i know that i cant conceal there but i thought i heard that it was ok to open carry in some places that were under the pfz. i would like to clear this up for my own knowledge. just because even knowing 95% of the officers that would show up wont cover my butt! haha thanks a ton

Brian

Offline Brian1921

Re: place to carry question...
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 03:26:24 PM »
Anyone have anything for me on this one?

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
place to carry question...
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 03:36:08 PM »
Google : MSP Legal Update 86

For legal info about OC. You can also read the stickies in this thread.

Do you provide armed security for said ice facility?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline northofnowhere

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 05:37:22 PM »
Straight answer.

You can openly carry a handgun there based on the information you have provided.

You can NOT open carry there without a CPL, as it is a "sports arena" and listed in Sec. 750.234d
** 750.234d Possession of firearm on certain premises prohibited; commonly called Non CPL Holder Pistol Free Zones**

You can not conceal there is the seating capacity is above 2500, and it is clearly a sports arena.
** 28.425o commonly called CPL Pistol Free Zones**

You are exempt from 750.234d as you are a CPL holder.

You may have employer related issues.  You did not say you work there as a security guard, and that could be an issue, or help your issue.  You simply mention you are a security guard but do not specify if you are an employee of the arena.