Author Topic: First Time Open Carry  (Read 9939 times)

Offline Zeteo

• First Name (Displayed): Al
First Time Open Carry
« on: July 25, 2012, 08:22:12 PM »
I've been a member of this forum for several months, and a MOC member for almost the same time. I've read many, many posts here, studied the laws about Open Carry for the last 6 month, and today I received my Blackhawk Serpa OWB holster in the mail.

So, this evening, I FINALLY open carried for the First Time to the local Taco Bell (Lincoln Park on Dix near Southfield) with absolutely no issues, no stares, nothing out of the ordinary. And that's just as it should be. Carry on.

;D

No law ever prevented a crime.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Re: First Time Open Carry
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 08:28:52 PM »
Oh no, a SERPA *hides*
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 08:33:07 PM »
Huh?

Offline Zeteo

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 08:33:44 PM »
Oh no, a SERPA *hides*

I have a CPL, but I have to ask, what does it hide?

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 08:38:32 PM »

I have a CPL, but I have to ask, what does it hide?

I was hiding.  SERPAs have a bad rep from some people.  I personally don't care what you carry in, so long as you do it safely.  Some people will lecture you all day long about why they think a SERPA is bad.

Some people will say the design is bad and is prone to ND.

Whatever.

I carry in a Safariland ALS.  Carry how you please.

Offline Zeteo

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2012, 08:47:03 PM »
OK - got it. Well, I'm not planning on rolling around in the snow anytime soon. I'll check out the Safariland. I already have several IWB holsters, so, what's another OWB to add to the collection anyway?    :D

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member