Author Topic: Charged but not convicted  (Read 8562 times)

Offline noahp87

• First Name (Displayed): Noah
Charged but not convicted
« on: August 14, 2012, 09:40:54 PM »
So back when i was 17 or 18 years old now 25, i was going out with a few friends and we were driving and i got pulled over for speeding and got arrested for having two people out past their curfew which i did not know. So they charged me with contributing but once i went to court the charges were dropped, so will that have a say in getting my CPL and what about speeding tickets, will that play a factor as well?

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 09:43:18 PM »
Only convictions of certain misdemeanors or felonies can cause you problems.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline noahp87

Re: Charged but not convicted
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 09:45:22 PM »
ok, thanks. only asking because im in the middle of getting my CPL just waiting on all the info to be gathered by the Sheriff for the gun board. Should i say i was charged but not convicted or just say "no" when they ask about the misdemeanors and felonies?

Offline Hammurabi

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 09:54:36 PM »
So long as the question is whether you've been convicted (and you haven't), the answer is no.

Don't volunteer anything that isn't asked for, and don't fudge the answer in reply to what you think they might want to know.

Offline noahp87

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2012, 10:02:49 PM »
thanks guys

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2012, 10:04:14 PM »
If called before the gun board, you may wish to take a lawyer.

Offline noahp87

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 10:14:55 PM »