Author Topic: Today's Senate Judiciary Committee vote on HB 5225  (Read 8373 times)

Offline Zeteo

• First Name (Displayed): Al
Today's Senate Judiciary Committee vote on HB 5225
« on: August 15, 2012, 09:37:09 PM »
Anyone hear any news on how this went today? I've Googled, and don't see any news...

No law ever prevented a crime.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Re: Today's Senate Judiciary Committee vote on HB 5225
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 09:38:42 PM »
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Zeteo

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 09:44:34 PM »
Thanks Q. I know MOC was neutral on this bill. I'm hoping that it's passing will be a positive rather than negative one for 2A supporters. I think it will myself.

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 09:52:08 PM »
Thanks Q. I know MOC was neutral on this bill. I'm hoping that it's passing will be a positive rather than negative one for 2A supporters. I think it will myself.

For those without a CPL, maybe not so much.

Offline Zeteo

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2012, 11:17:54 PM »
For those without a CPL, maybe not so much.

The problem I have, Q, with the P2P law remaining in place, is that those without a CPL have to (most times) pay some sort of 'processing fee' or notary charge, etc in order to purchase. On top of that, all of us have to turn in the 2206 to the police dept after we purchase, even if we have a CPL. It seems to me that eliminating this record keeping, as well as the asinine test required by the state, along with the illegal fees that we are charged, has to be a good thing.