Author Topic: Hello from Westland!  (Read 5692 times)

Offline lars

• First Name (Displayed): lars
Hello from Westland!
« on: October 02, 2012, 08:55:01 PM »
Hello all! From Westland.  I have been going through the many posts, and the info on the site for months. Just figured I would hop in and say hello all!! . I have not opened carried yet away from the house  but just in my yard so far lol. Printed out the open carry laws that you have here for the pocket.  Carry On All!!

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Hello from Westland!
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 11:33:14 PM »
Welcome! Glad to see you actively posting. Do you have a CPL?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline CV67PAT

• MOC Charter Member
Re: Hello from Westland!
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2012, 01:46:50 AM »
Welcome from Mom's basement.
Want to keep informed of events in your area? Go to http://www.miopencarry.org/update

Offline lars

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2012, 10:19:34 AM »
Thanks. No I  do not have a CPL yet.  Looking to get one in the near future before they make it harder to do so. Owned hand guns for years but now days we have to do what we have to do.

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
Hello from Westland!
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2012, 11:17:37 AM »
Thanks. No I  do not have a CPL yet.  Looking to get one in the near future before they make it harder to do so. Owned hand guns for years but now days we have to do what we have to do.

CPLs in Michigan are "shall issue", which means local governments can't make getting a CPL harder (in theory).

Since you don't have a CPL you can't carry any place listed in MCL 750.234d (google it). This includes Meijers, Walmart, or any place that is licensed to sell liquor at all.

Offline lars

« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2012, 11:28:43 AM »