Author Topic: Tips on Avoiding "Consensual" Police Encounters  (Read 6344 times)

Offline METL

Re: Tips on Avoiding "Consensual" Police Encounters
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 10:38:01 AM »
Their tips aren't very good.... 

Stick with the old "am I being detained" and if no, walk away....  repeat it if necessary...  if asked about anything, respectfully disclaim: "I don't consent to searches or seizures".... keep moving.....   

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Tips on Avoiding "Consensual" Police Encounters
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 01:51:09 PM »
Their tips aren't very good.... 

Stick with the old "am I being detained" and if no, walk away....  repeat it if necessary...  if asked about anything, respectfully disclaim: "I don't consent to searches or seizures".... keep moving.....

+1
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline TexasSupporter

• First Name (Displayed): James
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2013, 09:28:22 PM »
Thats good advice, but I have a question.   Of course, I'm here in Texas, a state that infringes my right to carry openly.  So I have gotten into the habit of starting up conversations with police officers and sheriff deputies, asking what they think of open carry.  They give me a lot of silly answers, and I educate them, specifically telling them that 44 states now allow open carry.  I always talk about my home state of Michigan, and Michigan Open Carry, and we have a good conversation and I go on my way.  Ok, so here's the question:   Bad idea?  That's my question.  Is it a bad idea what I'm doing, talking and trying to educate the cops?  It opens up a "consensual" police encounter, but it also educates them - and believe me, they need it!  Thanks for any input.

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2013, 10:18:05 PM »