Author Topic: Requirement to show ID  (Read 2814 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Requirement to show ID
« on: November 28, 2012, 11:42:05 AM »
This question was received by the Board of Directors mailbox today.  Please give input and respond.
in Michigan,if im walking down the street, open carry not doing anything wrong, and a police officer stops me do I have to show him/her my i.d.?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline gryphon

• MOC Moderator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
Re: Requirement to show ID
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2012, 02:07:40 PM »
No.  Michigan is not a stop-and-ID state.

Also, from the Michigan State Police Legal Update #86 which you should read:

Officers may engage in a consensual encounter with a person carrying a non-concealed pistol; however, in order to stop a citizen, officers are required to have reasonable suspicion that crime is afoot. For example, officers may not stop a person on the mere possibility the person may be carrying an unregistered pistol. Officers must possess facts rising to the level of reasonable suspicion to believe the person is carrying an unregistered pistol.

Officers are also reminded there is no general duty for a citizen to identify himself or herself to a police officer unless the citizen is being stopped for a Michigan Vehicle Code violation.

Offline METL

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2012, 09:55:59 AM »
No.  Michigan is not a stop-and-ID state.

Also, from the Michigan State Police Legal Update #86 which you should read: