Author Topic: St. John's CCW class misinformed  (Read 7341 times)

Offline faldain

St. John's CCW class misinformed
« on: July 02, 2013, 02:13:45 PM »
My friends wife took a CCW class in St. John's at the VFW last weekend. In it, she was taught that it is illegal to open carry in a theater, even for CCW permit holders. I am not sure how to go about initiating a discussion with the instructors, as I know that it is perfectly legal to carry openly in a theater if you have a CPL.

Offline bigt8261

• MOC President
  • MOC Board Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc
  • First Name (Displayed): Tom
Re: St. John's CCW class misinformed
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 02:33:40 PM »
Invite the instructor to see a movie with you.  :)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2013, 02:39:52 PM »
Know the instructor's name?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Jeff

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2013, 06:12:08 PM »
Don't feel too bad.  Mine told us that we are never allowed to OPEN CARRY ever again, that we forfeit the right to OPEN CARRY by getting a CPL.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
St. John's CCW class misinformed
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2013, 06:19:09 PM »

Don't feel too bad.  Mine told us that we are never allowed to OPEN CARRY ever again, that we forfeit the right to OPEN CARRY by getting a CPL.

If you could start a thread about your instructor, his name, where you took the class, when you took it, etc. and then we can link it in our CPL class review thread and warm others if bad instructors. We have to root these guys out!
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline autosurgeon

• MOC Treasurer
  • MOC Member
  • First Name (Displayed): Ryan
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2013, 09:21:47 PM »
His first name wasn't John I hope?