Author Topic: Wheelchair carrying vet.  (Read 4410 times)

Offline anotherchavez

• First Name (Displayed): Joe
Wheelchair carrying vet.
« on: July 10, 2013, 09:00:54 AM »
Hi from Gladwin. I'm new to open carry. I'm a Desert Storm Veteran (go Air Force!) I use a power wheelchair to get around and am a lefty so finding holsters is really really easy! (not). I'm partially mobile and can walk short distances. Any input on good way to carry would be great. Using a power wheelchair makes it hard to carry around the belt area as there isn't much room to draw as opposed to a manual chair (arm rests are different).  I'm thinking of building a mount for my chair. It would be dangerous if it were a manual chair because you can get tipped over easily and get separated from your weapon. In a power chair it's different. If somebody can knock me out of my chair, at 225 pounds, sitting in my power chair, which weighs 300+ pounds , I don't stand much of a chance anyway so I'm figuring a custom chair mount would be best. I'd love to hear suggestions. Thanks.

Offline Ezerharden

• Former Secretary
  • MOC Regional Coordinator, Deputy
  • I don't dial 911
  • First Name (Displayed): Mike
Re: Wheelchair carrying vet.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 11:29:10 AM »
Hello. First, welcome to the forums and welcome from Erie. Nice to see another Desert Storm Vet (army here).  I have heard (but not seen) of a wheelchair mount for a holster. However an alternative may be a shoulder holster.
Want to keep informed of events in your area? Go to http://www.miopencarry.org/update

I carry a gun because a Police Officer is too heavy.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Wheelchair carrying vet.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 01:31:42 PM »
I would say one could make an argument that a CPL is REQUIRED to carry on a wheelchair (see MCL 750.227).