Author Topic: Bank Versus Credit Union  (Read 4556 times)

Offline anotherchavez

• First Name (Displayed): Joe
Bank Versus Credit Union
« on: August 01, 2013, 06:48:35 PM »
Can I open carry at a credit union versus a bank? Can I open carry on bank  property (in order to use the ATM machine)? . I roll up to the atm machine at the bank in a wheelchair FYI (no car).  There is an open aired theater in our public park for plays. Is this considered a "theater".

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Bank Versus Credit Union
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2013, 10:48:09 PM »
For purposes if MCL 750.234d (OC w/o CPL), credit unions are banks. Banks/CU not mentioned in MCL 28.425o (CC).

If you're in a wheel chair, I hope you have a CPL because a wheelchair could be considered a vehicle under MCL 750.227.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
Bank Versus Credit Union
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2013, 10:51:03 PM »
An outdoor park is not an entertainment facility unless it has permanent seats.

There's an AGO on this. I'm sure someone who is sitting in front of a PC (versus on their phone) will reference it shortly, (please?)

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
Re: Bank Versus Credit Union
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2013, 01:49:55 AM »
AG Opinion No. 7120
December 4, 2002

A municipal outdoor recreation park does not, by itself, constitute an "entertainment facility" within the meaning of section 5o(1)(f) of the Concealed Pistol Licensing Act, and thus is not a gun-free zone as established by that statute.

http://www.ag.state.mi.us/opinion/datafiles/2000s/op10195.htm

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
Bank Versus Credit Union
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2013, 07:11:45 AM »
Thanks, Dan.

Offline dhardy57

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2013, 10:31:55 AM »