Author Topic: OC W/O CPL question  (Read 5129 times)

Offline EswPillowpants

OC W/O CPL question
« on: September 21, 2013, 05:37:10 PM »
Hey all!

I wanted to know if the law bounds me to carry in a certain way.  To be more specific, can i carry with a round in the chamber without a CPL?

thanks!

Offline Closing the Gap

Re: OC W/O CPL question
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2013, 06:12:23 PM »
Yes.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2013, 08:48:40 PM »
I would suggest you not carry around a brick and if you are going to carry a brick -- it's better you literally carry a brick (although possession of a bludgeon is illegal in MI).  ALWAYS carry with a round in the chamber.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Shadow Bear

• Dark Lord of the Internet
  • MOC Member
  • Human Rights Activist
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2013, 11:11:50 PM »
I would suggest you not carry around a brick and if you are going to carry a brick -- it's better you literally carry a brick (although possession of a bludgeon is illegal in MI).  ALWAYS carry with a round in the chamber.

What my learned golleague was trying to say is that the law is silent of the subject of carrying a sidearm with, or without, a round chambered.

Tactically, it is a good idea to carry your sidearm loaded with one in the chamber, if it can be safely done. There are some older models of revolvers that should be carried with the hammer down on an empty chamber. This is to render the weapon 'drop safe'. Most recent sidearms have features desighed to provide a measure of safety should a weapon be inadvertantly dropped.

Tactically speaking, you will not likely have time to rack a slide to prepare your sidearm for combat. Studies show that at the range of most self defense shootings, you will barely have time to draw, much less chamber a round.