Author Topic: Multi-state resident, Michigan handgun purchase.  (Read 7203 times)

Offline ohiooc

• MOC Member
Multi-state resident, Michigan handgun purchase.
« on: December 11, 2013, 12:21:46 AM »
This is not entirely open carry related, but I'm curious if someone can point me in the right direction.  Please move if this is the wrong forum.

Under federal law, for purposes of purchasing a handgun, I am a resident of two states.  This confers me the ability, again under federal law, to purchase a handgun in Michigan.

As I read the Public Act 377 of 2012 Changes, to whit:

Sec. 2a. (1) The following individuals are not required to obtain a license under section 2 to purchase, carry, possess, use, or transport a pistol:
(a) An individual licensed under section 5b.
(b) A federally licensed firearms dealer.
(c) An individual who purchases a pistol from a federally licensed firearms dealer in compliance with 18 USC 922(t).

I would fall into exemption 2a. (1)(c).

However, the following paragraph (2a.(2)) states: