Author Topic: OC in Howell  (Read 10264 times)

Offline karudin

• First Name (Displayed): Gregg
OC in Howell
« on: December 27, 2013, 10:30:23 PM »
So finally got my CPL (only 7 weeks >:( ) decided to start OCing again now that I didn't have to worry about my coat. Started with just going out to start my car and one of my neighbors saw me carrying (no coat) and immediately asked if I was a cop or if I had a CPL. Told him I had a CPL but it didn't matter, MI is an open carry state so as long as the handgun is registered to you, you can legally OC the firearm with or without a CPL. He then said he thought if you had a CPL it had to be concealed (that's what he had been told when he got his CPL). Again I told him no, you don't have to cover the firearm. I spoke with him for about 10 mins before giving him MOC as a reference if he was interested in learning more about OC. I have a feeling he would have talked with me longer had his wife not gotten in the car and nudged him to leave.

After my first encounter I ran around doing some errands with my wife and had a couple of double takes but honestly most people didn't even notice. When I went into Kohl's I ended up talking with another guy that much like the one earlier in the day was severely misinformed about what the open carry laws are in MI. I spoke with him for a few minutes before leaving and also gave him info for MOC.

All in all it was a great day, was able to give a couple of people some good information. I'm thinking I don't get as many looks because people think I'm a cop (several people have asked when they first start talking to me), might be the high and tight. Hope to be sharing some additional positive encounters in the future.

Offline Xpiatio

• First Name (Displayed): Benjamin
Re: OC in Howell
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2013, 10:43:23 PM »
Applied for mine the other day, clerk said they are averaging 2 - 3 months wait.

Offline Dbilger

• First Name (Displayed): Don