Author Topic: Gryphon, watch this video if you dare.  (Read 18812 times)

Offline Jeff

Gryphon, watch this video if you dare.
« on: April 09, 2014, 08:10:34 AM »
Warning, your blood pressure might skyrocket.

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2014, 09:08:08 AM »
Pea shooter...
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
Re: Gryphon, watch this video if you dare.
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 09:49:26 AM »
I've seen it.  I disagree.  So do a lot of other people.  Stores can't keep Five-seveNs or PS90's on the shelf (unless they overprice them).  And there are good reasons why.  Ballistics.  Just because someone posts popular videos on youtube doesn't mean they are experts on, well, anything.  Look at the ballistic testing that's been done and you will likely be amazed.  And I don't just mean ballistics gel or clay (although those are eye-opening as well).  I mean pigs and other animals.  But let me repost something a "real" expert wrote a while back.

+++++

I see a lot of links to "experts" who profess to know what is an effective round, and so, sitting here it suddenly dawned on me that "I" am an expert as well! I've been a CCRN for 20 years. I've worked in some of the "busiest" Level One Trauma centers as well as some of the equally "busy" backwater county Emergency Rooms and seen my share of GSW's (gunshot wounds) come through the door so and I suspect I have far more REAL experience with what bullets "do" than all the armchair supposed experts. What I have to say will not I suspect be well-received by the bigger is better crowd.

I've seen a LOT of people shot with the .45 ACP and 9mm simply WALK IN THE DOOR with no outwardly ill effect. I've seen people shot with the lowly .22LR come in by ambulance, in shock, near death.