Author Topic: Car Break In  (Read 14816 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Re: Car Break In
« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2010, 03:49:26 PM »
This is the second time I had to do this in the last 2 1/2 years (last time they were in my apt) and the Police were just fine with it.

Time to find a new neighborhood?  ;) ???
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline Tango125INF11b

• I looked Death in the face, so what have you done?
« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2010, 03:58:08 PM »
Worst part is, the first time was on a totally different side of town!
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Offline Tango125INF11b

« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2010, 03:58:57 PM »
I have a house now, that was my old apt a little over 2 years ago

Offline Advanced Security

« Reply #23 on: August 01, 2010, 06:31:23 PM »
The perp was holding something in his hand to make those pry marks.......at 2235 hrs it could be about anything.
Exactly.  He had what could be construed as a weapon.  What's more, holding the gun in your hand, not pointed at anything but the ground would be a hard case for brandishing -- which is defined as "waving a gun about in a threatening manner".
I thought it had something to do with displaying in a threatening manner. Also, what would the point of drawing a gun in that situation, if not to "threaten" the perp. I get it, the guy had a weapon.  However, you'll not convince me that you we following castle doctrine by chasing the guy.  Law, I believe reads, no duty to retreat, and repel the threat. I just wouldve handled it different.

As soon as we refuse to learn and grow, we should probably hang it up.

Jeff

Offline Tango125INF11b

« Reply #24 on: August 01, 2010, 07:51:44 PM »