Author Topic: New guy here!  (Read 11889 times)

Offline GhostOfSparta85

• First Name (Displayed): Ryan
New guy here!
« on: March 24, 2015, 12:38:45 PM »
Hey all!

Full disclosure, I wasn't sure where to post this, so I figured "Off topic" would be as good a place as any. Anyway, here's a little background about myself.  My name is Ryan, I am a 29 year old white male that is overflowing with white privilege (lol).  I am married to the woman of my dreams, going on 7 years, been together 11 years, we have 3 beautiful children from ages 4-10 months and I am indeed a gun owner.  I wasn't always a gun owner, in fact I wasn't always interested in guns.  I decided I wanted to get into shooting in 2012 so my father in law took me out into the woods by his cottage and let me shoot his .22 Ruger pistol, .22 rifle, 20 gauge semi-auto remington, 12 gauge pump remington and his .357 revolver.  The moment I started shooting, I became hooked.  That fall, I bought my first firearm; a Mossberg 500.  I now have 4 guns (Mossberg 500, Ruger Gp100, Springfield XDS and Ruger Sr1911).  I have become VERY passionate about firearm ownership, carrying (concealed or open) and wanted to chat with people who are like minded.  I do have plenty of friends who carry, none of them I really see on a daily basis. 

I have a CPL myself, but I have been becoming more comfortable with the idea of open carrying around my house, in my yard and around my neighborhood.  It makes my wife nervous, but I assure her that I am not breaking the law, it is perfectly legal to open carry and I'm tired of liberal minded folk dictating how we should carry.  I shouldn't have to hide my gun because some delicate snowflake might get upset at the sight of a firearm.  Anyway, that is enough about me.  I live in the Flint area, so if there's any events near me, I'd love to join!

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
Re: New guy here!
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2015, 01:25:47 PM »