Author Topic: Murder Rates: Why Comparing The United States Only To Other Developed Countries  (Read 57309 times)

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
An electric Metabo will also easily cut steel plate. My millwright contractors do it every day. That you just need an 120v outlet. And they are cheap.

Offline mosnar87

• MOC Member
  • First Name (Displayed): Ervin
I use a 18V (battery) 4.5" angle grinder to cut and grind cold rolled steel in excess of 1/4" on a pretty regular basis. Compared to that, the steel that is used for most safes is tissue paper.
"I don't want to be someone that successfully defends himself with a pistol.  I want to be someone that never has to defend himself with a pistol."
-Bronson, 2013

"Its not what I do for a living, its that I want to keep doing it"
-Evil Creamsicle, 2010

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
Didn't know they had battery powered angle grinders.  I've only seen 120v electric and pneumatic.  So there are a handful of different types of small, battery powered tools that easily will cut through the majority of gun safe bodies.

I've got a $1,000 safe, probably nearly identical to what freediver is going to purchase.  It will keep my grandkids out and the random smash and grab, but I have no illusions that it would keep out someone who knew I had guns and broke into my house to steal them.  They would come prepared with very modest battery powered tools that could easily cut right through the double steel walls.  And if not they could use my tools in my garage!

Here's what you can do with a $50 tool in under two minutes.  This is a Browning ProSteel safe.  Not cheap.  This "careless" gun owner lost all of his guns in a five minute home robbery.

Offline autosurgeon

• MOC Treasurer
  • MOC Member
  • First Name (Displayed): Ryan
Best thing is to limit access to the safe. Make it hard to get to. But the fact is given enough time anything can be cracked.

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk