Author Topic: CPL - Mental Illness & ADHD  (Read 22382 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
CPL - Mental Illness & ADHD
« on: August 23, 2010, 04:48:03 PM »
I know someone who would like to apply for a CPL that has ADHD, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.  This is quite possibly the most common mental illness today, with 8-10% of the population diagnosed (see CDC).  Many many more are undiagnosed.

Would such a diagnosis preclude such a person from purchasing a pistol or getting a CPL under MCL 28.425b: ???

(l) The applicant does not have a diagnosed mental illness at the time the application is made regardless of whether he or she
is receiving treatment for that illness

??? ??? ???
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline FatboyCykes

Re: CPL - Mental Illness & ADHD
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 04:52:39 PM »
Has he been diagnosed by a doctor?

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 05:04:09 PM »
Has he been diagnosed by a doctor?

Yes.

Offline kryptonian

• First Name (Displayed): dave
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2010, 05:27:57 PM »
you're in luck. there is no such thing as ADHD. everyone wants their problem issued a syndrome or disease to give them an excuse to keep doing it and get special attention. the cure for ADHD is called PAY ATTENTION. there - you're cured. years ago we didn't Epstein- Barr - it was called LAZY. fibromialga isn't a disease either - it's called leg pains or whatever doctors want to milk you for and your insurance. no insurance - bet you don't get diagnosed with anything. doctors love to diagnose it because they keep you coming back and prescribing you stuff for it. there's no money in cures.