Author Topic: Carry, Siiezure, and Detention  (Read 9904 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Carry, Siiezure, and Detention
« on: September 03, 2010, 06:09:22 PM »
Let's assume I am legally carrying and I am "detained" (legally or not), can the officer ask me for possession of my piece or take it from me?

Let's assume I'm involved in a speed related traffic stop and I disclose my possession as required by law, can the officer un-arm me for the duration of the stop?  If so, please cite MCL references.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline ocdetroit

• STAY STRONG (WE THE PEOPLE).
  • First Name (Displayed): THE BIG O
Re: Carry, Siiezure, and Detention
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 06:32:23 PM »
Yes he can ask for your weapon, and keep it for his and your safety. I was just checking my E-mail. And just wanted to let you know real soon. I will let some of the other members give you sites or comments. Carry On.
Open carry in Detroit
With both of them.

Offline northofnowhere

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2010, 09:35:55 AM »
There is no cite I can actually find.  The topic is covered under Michigan State Police's "Proper Conduct During Encounters With Police."

MSP website link, it is at very bottom:
http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-1591_3503_4654-10941--,00.html

Sorry, best I can do.  It is standard practice, and was mentioned at the CPL class I took to tender your firearm when asked by a LEO, but I can not find a cite where it makes it legal for them to take possession at all.  A cite could be out there, but I was unable to find it.

-northofnowhere
Jason E. Reese aka northofnowher

Offline ocdetroit

Re: Carry, Seizure, and Detention
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2010, 01:34:50 PM »