Author Topic: Employer Regs/ Public building question  (Read 9322 times)

Offline AutumnArcher

Employer Regs/ Public building question
« on: August 24, 2010, 10:53:08 PM »
Consider this, and maybe someone could give some legal insight as to whether this is legal. I am a public employee- firefighter. The municipality employees are prohibited from being in possession of firearms or weapons at work, or on city property such as in the stations. But, this is an employee policy, not necessarily a ordinance.

I cannot keep my carry weapon in the station, loaded or unloaded. Since I have a fair commute to and from work, I keep it secured in my vehicle, which to date has not been an issue. But, beingthat the station is a publicly owned building, anyone coming in off the street can have their weapon on them. is it legal for them to prohibit via employee regulations, possession of my weapon?  We have all sorts of people wander in here all the time, as well as other threats from time to time. I understand not carrying while I am working, but I should be able to protect myself in the workplace. Being that this is not private property, is this type of rule legal?

Offline drtodd

• MOC Member
  • MOC Charter Member
Re: Employer Regs/ Public building question
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 01:18:15 AM »
Yes.

123.1102 Regulation of pistols or other firearms.
Sec. 2. A local unit of government shall not impose special taxation on, enact or enforce any ordinance or regulation pertaining
to, or regulate in any other manner the ownership, registration, purchase, sale, transfer, transportation, or possession of pistols
or other firearms, ammunition for pistols or other firearms, or components of pistols or other firearms, except as otherwise
provided by federal law or a law of this state.

MCL123.1103 Permissible prohibitions or regulation.
Sec. 3. This act does not prohibit a local unit of government from doing either of the following: