Author Topic: If someone comes into my house?  (Read 7781 times)

Offline BTAvery

If someone comes into my house?
« on: October 16, 2010, 12:38:54 PM »
Ok not OC related but firearm related if someon breaks into my home can I shoot them or do I have to be threatened or breaking in is threat enough?

Offline mosnar87

• MOC Member
  • First Name (Displayed): Ervin
Re: If someone comes into my house?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2010, 03:04:37 PM »
Have you read this?

IMOP based on what I see there it would seem that all you would need to worry about are these three criteria:

1) Fear of Death.

2) Fear of Serious Bodily Injury.

3) Fear of Forcible Sexual Penetration.

I would think that a forcible entry would definitely fulfill (2) and probably (1) in the eyes of a “Reasonable Man”

IANAL
"I don't want to be someone that successfully defends himself with a pistol.  I want to be someone that never has to defend himself with a pistol."
-Bronson, 2013

"Its not what I do for a living, its that I want to keep doing it"
-Evil Creamsicle, 2010

Offline onnie0047@gmail.com

• MOC Leadership
    • Randys Old Time Radio Shows
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2010, 03:39:18 PM »
780.951 Individual using deadly force or force other than deadly force; presumption; definitions.
Sec. 1.

1) Except as provided in subsection (2), it is a rebuttable presumption in a civil or criminal case that an individual who uses deadly force or force other than deadly force under section 2 of the self-defense act has an honest and reasonable belief that imminent death of, sexual assault of, or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another individual will occur if both of the following apply: