Author Topic: Questions about CADL Case Status and legal fund  (Read 19977 times)

Offline emt805

Questions about CADL Case Status and legal fund
« on: December 01, 2011, 10:43:09 PM »
What is the status of this case?  Last I heard it was waiting for the panel of three for judgment?
« Last Edit: December 02, 2011, 08:04:42 AM by TheQ »

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Re: Questions about CADL Case Status and legal fund
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2011, 11:02:37 PM »
That's about it. Movement not expected until at least February, 2012. If you'd like to discuss the case in more detail, please start a new thread or find one of the old ones.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2011, 11:04:54 PM by TheQ »
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline emt805

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2011, 07:19:33 AM »
No that's alright I'll stay here as it relates to this thread, was just curious why all the sudden a fundraiser for this case that will be tied up here rather than a general fund that could be voted by the board to be used on any cases that come up? I understand a proactive approach but why not build a general fund that can be moved to this?

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2011, 07:45:36 AM »
...I even said "please" in my prior post ;)

I'll let other board members answer your question as well.  Here are my thoughts: MOC would like to have a standing legal fund specifically for the use of the organization to battle legal questions as they come up.  This fund isn't a 1983 case fund as MOC as currently organized cannot have a fund that is setup to benefit individual members.

We still have bills to pay in concerns to CADL.  We'd hope CADL would be our last need for a lawyer, but we'd like to be prepared in case it is not.  The Board of Directors will also direct how the legal funds are to be used.

Offline emt805