Author Topic: Hello from Lansing area  (Read 3803 times)

xerxescct

Hello from Lansing area
« on: April 01, 2013, 07:40:38 PM »
Hello everyone.

My name is Sean and I am very new to Open Carry. I am also new to owning a pistol. In these times my family made the decision to protect ourselves as law abiding citizens from those who choose to do harm on others. I have been following the Facebook page for a little while now and have already had a pleasant experience in asking a question about keeping my shirt down during conceal carry. Everyone is helpful, educated, and far from the warmonger some would make us out to be.

I am interested in becoming more involved in the activities of this group. Possibly even work into some kind of event coordinator for the cause. My only goal is to educate those who are unaware of the laws of the state regarding open carry. In this I can tell you a true story.

I was at work, currently in retail, about a year ago. An open carry advocate came in the store and was shopping like any other customer would but they were carrying a pistol openly. I had heard that the police showed and had the man leave at the request of the duty manager at the time. My thoughts when I heard this was:

"Oh my god! He carried a gun in here? What an idiot!"
"He is probably sitting in jail which is good!"
"Maybe he was drunk and stupid!"
"To think he could have pulled his gun on anyone... even me!"