Author Topic: Plan to attend OC event but have questions  (Read 7210 times)

xerxescct

Plan to attend OC event but have questions
« on: April 01, 2013, 08:07:21 PM »
Hello all. I am very new to Open Carry and owning a pistol so I apologize if these questions have been asked several times or are stupid.

I plan on attending the Moms Demand Action at the State capital on April 13th in support of Open Carry. This will be my very first event to attend and quite frankly I am a bit nervous and unsure about what to expect. I know it sounds weird but I am hoping this discussion will clear my doubts and fears and I will be able to support the cause effectively.

1. I do not currently have a CPL. Therefor I assume I must transport the weapon unloaded in the trunk of my car till I arrive at the meeting point of the march. Will I then be able to load the weapon and holster it?

2. Same for the return trip. Do I unload the weapon and store it in the trunk before leaving for home?

3. I am actually a shy person so im not one to walk up to anyone and introduce myself or carry on a conversation with a stranger. Is this the type of event where we just walk, stand, and observe or do we take the time to talk about the cause, talk about guns, holsters, or other carry and gun related topics? In other words will we also be "shooting the breeze" with each other?

4. Can I photograph, or shoot video for the purpose of posting such on Youtube? I have my own Youtube account with a tad less than 100 subscribers and would like to post my experiences during my first event.

5. I am researching, but still mostly unaware of the details to the laws pertaining to open carry. I do not want to get myself in a situation where I am asked about open carry and not know the answers or am confronted by law enforcement and asked to do things such as identify myself. During this march will I be subject to any of these situations and if so will others be willing to help me with those such situations?