Author Topic: Working up the courage only to get discouraged  (Read 9361 times)

xerxescct

Working up the courage only to get discouraged
« on: April 11, 2013, 05:31:27 PM »
So I am new to the whole open carry thing. I fully support it. I have been reading up on the letter of the law as much as I can. Getting info as I go along. Working up the courage to open carry on my own block.

I live in an apartment complex. There is no ban on guns in the lease agreement I already checked. I have a good amount of space with a back deck. I live on a lake and we usually get around 4 or 5 Swans that migrate in this time of year and the first Swan showed up today. I was out on my deck (Only accessible to me by way of sliding glass door) taking some stills and video of the first Swan that has come in. My neighbor, whom I dont know well at all noticed I was open carrying on the deck. At first he said nothing but I knew he was looking at me. I ignored him and kept doing what I was doing. He went inside, came back out, went inside, came back out, each time looking at me for a bit.

I knew what he was looking at so finally I looked over at him and said "Good Afternoon, I noticed you looking at me is there something I can help you with?" His response was "Is that a gun on your hip?" I answered yes and he followed up with "You cant have that out in the open like that" I asked him for a reason and he responded with "This is a public area, anyone can see you, you cant have guns out in the public like that so I suggest you take the gun inside or I will call the police." I then explained to him that the deck is my private dwelling and I can carry openly as if I were inside the building. I also added that there is no law against open carry at this location. His response was "We will see about that"