Author Topic: oc on school side walk?  (Read 5410 times)

Offline harleyh77

• First Name (Displayed): Steve
oc on school side walk?
« on: April 15, 2013, 05:38:42 PM »
When i take my dog for a walk can i oc without a cpl on the side walk in front of a school?
"An armed society is a polite society. Manners are good when one may have to back up his acts with his life" -Robert A. Heinlein

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
oc on school side walk?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 06:01:39 PM »
Good question. A careful reading of MCL 750.237a (google: MCL 750.237a) may reveal the answer or at least some good questions.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
oc on school side walk?
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 06:28:15 PM »
(b) “School” means a public, private, denominational, or parochial school offering developmental kindergarten, kindergarten, or any grade from 1 through 12.

(c) “School property” means a building, playing field, or property used for school purposes to impart instruction to children or used for functions and events sponsored by a school, except a building used primarily for adult education or college extension courses.

(d) “Weapon free school zone” means school property and a vehicle used by a school to transport students to or from school property.

Offline harleyh77

Re: oc on school side walk?
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2013, 12:06:04 AM »
http://www.kzoo.edu/convene/clearinghouse/ordinances.htm

The school near my house is in kzoo township. The above website states that maintanance and repair is the responsiblity of property owner. Sounds like the sidewalk is school property but does not fall under the definition of "school property" that would prohibit carry. Still going to search for more clarification.