Author Topic: New Open Carry Proponent  (Read 4619 times)

Offline faldain

New Open Carry Proponent
« on: July 02, 2013, 12:16:28 PM »
Hey Guys- I live near Lansing, and have been open carrying around here for about 6-8 months. After Sandy Hook, I decided that I needed to get more involved and more proactive in protecting my children and protecting our rights. I love the dialogue that often comes from open carrying, and have only had one comfrontation (apart from my sister in law lol)

I was at a baseball tournament in Holland about a month ago, openly carrying my CZ40B on my side. I have done this at all my son's baseball tournaments, and his teammates parents weren't too thrilled initially. As I got up to get a hot dog, I was approached by one of the city workers and asked if i was a Public Safety officer. I was kind of taken aback, and responded no. He then informed me that "we don't allow people to carry those around here". I knew that it was a public park, and therefore I was allowed by law, but I didn't really want to cause a scene. I told him that i know what the state law is, and he responded with something about calling the police. We were surrounded by families, so i asked to to step over so i could speak to him privately. I then informed him, with a smile and nice tone- "Look, I know the laws extensively. I am here to watch a baseball game, and enjoy a hot dog. The gun is on my hip to protect my little boy over there, and all the other children here. I am not here to cause trouble. Do you really have a problem with that? His answer----- "No sir- have a nice day".

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
New Open Carry Proponent
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 12:35:56 PM »
Sounds like a great experience. Welcome to our forum!

Are you on our mailing list, by chance?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline faldain

Re: New Open Carry Proponent