Author Topic: Illinois Gov. triggers backlash after changing concealed-carry bill  (Read 5376 times)

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
Among those changes, he called for guns to be banned from any business where alcohol is served.

He also added a restriction so that licensed gun owners would only be allowed to carry a single concealed gun and one ammunition clip holding up to 10 rounds.

http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2013/07/03/quinn-changes-illinois-concealed-carry-legislation/

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
Illinois Gov. triggers backlash after changing concealed-carry bill
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2013, 12:28:35 PM »
I thought the legislature changes laws, not the Governor? Do they do things different in IL?
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2013, 12:35:16 PM »
I understand he proposed changes with his veto pen.

It's funny how both some people in the legislature and the governor claim to speak for "the people". What wanton hubris! These jackasses claim they speak for "the people"?

The people in the Michigan Legislature don't speak for my will...neither does our Governor. This is jackassness of the highest magnitude. What arrogance!

Offline Bronson

Re: Illinois Gov. triggers backlash after changing concealed-carry bill
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2013, 03:35:43 PM »
Perhaps I am misinformed, but if IL doesn't get a law in place by a certain date don't they get unrestricted constitutional carry imposed upon them?

Bronson
Those who expect to reap the benefits of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it. – Thomas Paine

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2013, 03:49:27 PM »

Perhaps I am misinformed, but if IL doesn't get a law in place by a certain date don't they get unrestricted constitutional carry imposed upon them?