Author Topic: South Carolina Father Wins Self-Defense Immunity in Shooting of Bystander  (Read 6132 times)

Offline TheQ

• Website Content Manager
  • MOC Lifetime Member
    • Michigan Open Carry, Inc.
  • First Name (Displayed): Phillip
1. In Michigan your are rightfully (IMHO) criminally (manslaughter) and civilly (wrongful death) responsible for where your bullet stops.  See MCL 600.2922b http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-600-2922b .

2. It looks like South Carolina may need to change it's law to appropriately protect innocent bystanders.
I Am Not A Lawyer (nor a gunsmith).

Offline packeagle

Q
What about transfered intent?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

Offline linux203

• MOC Member
  • First Name (Displayed): Daniel
My CPL instructor indicated that Michigan didn't have civil immunity with the use of self-defense.  MCL 600.2922b seems to indicate otherwise.  Did I miss read this?  Immunity applies for the person who deadly force was authorized against only.

He was wrong about other stuff too.
When a strong man, fully armed, guards his own palace, his goods are in peace. Luke 11:21

Then He said to them, “But now, he who has a money bag, let him take it, and likewise a knapsack; and he who has no sword, let him sell his garment and buy one."  Luke 22:36

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
Q
What about transfered intent?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

What is "transferred intent"?

Offline TheQ

• MOC Lifetime Member
My CPL instructor indicated that Michigan didn't have civil immunity with the use of self-defense.  MCL 600.2922b seems to indicate otherwise.  Did I miss read this?  Immunity applies for the person who deadly force was authorized against only.

He was wrong about other stuff too.

A CPL instructor that doesn't know the law.  Is anyone shocked?

Offline gryphon

• Administrator
  • First Name (Displayed): Dan
 I'm shocked, shocked to find that gambling is going on in here!

Offline jgillmanjr

• MOC Member